Select Page

Team at National Conflict Early Warning and Response Unit (CEWERU) Uganda

National Conflict Early Warning and Response Unit (CEWERU) of Uganda was established in September 2003 with the mandate to monitor cross border pastoral and related conflicts within the Karamoja cluster side of Uganda.  With a vision of “A peaceful and stable Uganda free of violent conflict”,   CEWERU’s mission is; “To operate an efficient, effective early warning and early response mechanism aimed at preventing, reducing and mitigating conflicts in Uganda.

The mandate of CEWERU Uganda is to identify potential conflicts, mitigate escalating conflicts, and to develop response options, including short, medium and long term strategies to address these conflicts. With its Secretariat strategically placed at the Uganda National Focal Point (NFP) on Small Arms and Light Weapons (SALWs) in the Ministry of Internal Affairs, CEWERU Uganda has been undertaking monitoring and analysis of data on pastoral and related conflicts, through which it has contributed immensely to the enhancement of internal security and enforcement of law and order. CEWERU is currently undertaking conflict monitoring in the following districts of the Karamoja Cluster, namely: Amudat, Bukwo, Kaabong, Kapchorwa, Kotido, Kween, Moroto, Napak and Nakapiripirit.

As per Article 11 of the CEWARN Protocol on “Structures of CEWERUs”, a CEWERU shall be established in the most suitable location as member states decide taking into account their logistical and administrative arrangements, and will consist of:

  • An Optional Steering Committee
  • A Focal Point
  • Local Committees.

The Uganda CEWERU was established in 2003, and placed under the Ministry of Internal Affairs in consideration of its role in providing internal security and enforcement of law and order. The Ministry of Internal Affairs has designated the Uganda National Focal Point on Small Arms and Light Weapons as the coordinating agency. The Uganda CEWERU comprises of the following policy and operational structures:

  1. National Steering Committee
  2. Executive Committee
  3. District Peace Committees
  4. Sub-County Peace Committees
  5. Parish Peace Committees
  6. Village Peace Committees

5. Civil society institutions (recognized civil society networks at national, district and local levels).

The CEWERU Head is the Chief Executive and is accountable to the appointing authority in the Ministry of Internal Affairs and directly to the National CEWERU Steering Committee. The CEWERU Head liaises with the National Steering Committee on planning and executing CEWERU activities with regards to early warning information and necessary response strategies.

Below the National CEWERU are the local peace committees at District, and Sub county levels. The Chairpersons of the District peace Committees are appointed by the Minister of Internal Affairs. The Resident District Commissioners (RDCs) in the districts of Bukwo, Moroto, Kapchorwa, Kaabong, Nakapiripirit and Kotido have been appointed Heads of DPCs.