Select Page

After successful implementation of the Rapid Response Fund (RRF) II projects by the Six (6) IGAD Member States, CEWERU South Sudan made a Learning visit to Kampala- Uganda to share experiences from CEWERU Uganda and the Implementing Agencies from 5th-11th October, 2023.
The Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD) Member States that implemented the CEWARN RRF11 Projects include: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan and Uganda.  Sudan was not able to participate in the implementation of the RRF11 projects because of the conflict ongoing.
The S/Sudan visiting team comprised of four (4) delegates namely; Hon. Betty Oboy Itorong- the Acting CEWERU Head, Hon. Stanislaus Jada- Member of the revitalize Transitional National Legislative Assembly, Ms. Jane Gordon- Member of the National Women’s Union and Mr. Taban Charles John- the S/Sudan CEWERU Coordinator.
The Learning experiences reflected on the success stories of what worked well, the challenges faced and how best to improve in the next RRF undertakings.
The Delegation made a physical visit to CEWERU Secretariat and the Situation Room located at the Ministry of Internal Affairs, the two (2) Implementing Agencies of; Coalition for Action on 1325 (COACT) located at Mbuya Hill and Uganda Society for the Disabled Children (USDC) located at Mulago Hill.  
The other two (2) Implementing Agencies of; Riam Riam Civil Society Network and Nakele Rural Women’s Activists located in Karamoja sub region were virtually accessed and zoom discussions were conducted.
Both the host and the visiting delegation gained a lot and hoped to identify opportunities from sharing lessons going forward and having joint projects of cross border nature to deal with the corridor issues.